Australia (Living in Brisbane)

img_0813
Our little house in Paddington.  Complete with great housemates and AirCon 🙂

img_0814
Christmas movies at South Bank

img_0831
New Year’s firework show

img_0812
The Wheel of Brisbane

img_0816
Swimming Hole (Complete with Eels)

img_0817
Brisbane Botanical Gardens

His….

Here are a bunch of my random thoughts about the time we spent living in Brisbane and what I will remember the most:

1. We had the fortune to live with two awesome natives and meet/spent time with their family and friends. They were even kind enough to invite us over on Christmas Day for dinner with their family.

2. For a couple of weeks which consisted of one hour a day I was teaching myself how to play the ukulele. I didn’t get very far, and I really looking forward to teaching myself further when we get back to the states.

3. I was able to sign up for a gym membership and made big strides in my fitness routine considering I have not worked out for a couple of weeks. It was incredibly refreshing to get back on a routine, even though I knew it would soon be coming to an end.

4. Volunteering at Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary. Such and incredible and fulfilling adventure (see previous blog post).

5. The one road trip we completed in Queensland to Springbrook National Park and Byron Bay, which was my favorite beach.

6. The heat is absolutely brutal. Since there is no such thing as central air, it was such a relief to have an A/C unit dedicated to our bedroom :). I’m looking forward to the cooler temperatures of Colorado.

7. I spent a considerable amount of time planning our trip to New Zealand. Planning a 30 day road trip is not the easiest thing to complete.

8. I had a lot of downtime. So much in fact, I read through some of my books twice (which I would normally never do). I truly wish I could have worked as well to fill up some of that time, but it will make me appreciate getting back to work once we return to the states.

When it’s all said and done, I can considering living in Australia crossed off my bucket list. It wasn’t as long as we expected, but we successfully navigated our way through a normal life here for a few months. But with this chapter coming to a close, we still have lots more adventure headed our way!

Hers….
Well after being Australian residents for the past 11 weeks we have decided to continue our travels. I have always been a big advocate of “why just visit a destination when you can live there” and I still strongly believe in that. This experience just put a different perspective on that slogan of mine. When we first starting planning our international move to Australia we originally thought we would spend 6 months to a year living in one area. My opinion was that you need a full year in a city to really get a feel for it and see everything it has to offer. But after this experience that perspective has changed. Every city is different and every experience offers something different. I think our 2 months of living, working, volunteering and touring Brisbane was all the time we needed. I also think the 13 months we spent in San Francisco wasn’t enough. So every city seems to have a different timeline and that timeline is different for every life. I now understand why the humpback whales spend their entire lives swimming in a giant circle around this small planet we live on. 

I am eternally grateful for the experiences we were given in OZ and the relationships we made. Spending the holidays abroad, as an orphan, with a family of 50 Australians felt more like home than any holiday spent in the states within the past 20 years. The love that the Australians have and give is something very inspiring. Not to mention the palova provides all the good feels in the world. There are so many things I will miss like calling a redneck a “bogan”, morning tea time with biscuits, the smell of fresh flowers every walk home and the sounds of bats crashing into our fruit trees. I needed to see that in such a screwed up world there are still communities who rise above it and let love win. So here’s to our next move, next chapter, next experience in this crazy place called life. 

“Growth is painful. Change is painful. But nothing is as painful as staying stuck somewhere you don’t belong.” -Mandy Hale 

 

Leave a Reply

